April 2016

The society was established in 1805 as the Medical and Chirurgical Society of London.  A number of psychologists have been Fellows of the Society including the late Glyn Humphreys who was Professor of Experimental Psychology at Oxford and the President of the British Psychological Society, Professor Jamie Hacker-Hughes.  Honorary Fellows have included Charles Darwin, Louis Pasteur, Edward Jenner and Sigmund Freud.